FORUMS

Welcome to the shannoncurtis.net forum community, Guest! Log In or Sign Up
Im new to this ...just finished the book
Hi Everyone....Im very new to this..... there are a  few house concerts going on in my area...but its like a regular gig.  I have  been in contact with the guy that started " Concerts in Your Home" but he has his artist and he is looking for homes to host them in. This whole concept is new and scary to me. I plan to get started in the spring. Oh yes Im a Jazz Vocalist and would need at least a keyboard and bassist.
I just wanted to say Hi and introduce myself...lol
keep the music live!
Hi Sabreena! Welcome. I'm so glad you're here.

The thing that became so attractive to me about the house concert model you read about in the book is that I never ever ever have to wait on a "regular" venue to email me back, or get me a date -- instead, I started within my own community and found people who would host concerts for me to play to their friends and family.

That's really the whole point and the power behind this model: you + the people you know/people who support your music create the "venue" together! Then you're not waiting on anyone to make it happen for you. You're just making it happen yourself. See what I mean?

So, I would recommend not putting your effort into getting the attention of the existing "regular gig" house concerts in your area. Instead, I would recommend putting your energy into finding someone you know who has never hosted a house concert before in their life, then using all the tools you learned about in my book to help them create a great house concert with you.

Please let us know how it goes for you, and please post any more questions you may have to the forum!
Hi Sabreena (& Shannon!),